Born to become free

Metro

Four-time Olympian Jo Pavey, 40, is a new mum for the second time and easing her way back into training.

I was very active as a child. I did roller skating and played tennis and football. But it was only when I started secondary school that I got the opportunity to try some longer distance running. My PE teacher asked me to run two laps of a grass track and was pleased with how I did so advised me to join a running club.

Paula Radcliffe and and I first competed together in 1988, at the English Schools Championships. I ran for Devon and broke the British under-15s record for the 1500metres. We’re not rivals and I really admire what she has achieved. All the British female endurance running team are great friends.

Although I showed promise, there were many years of injury that prevented my progress at first. I…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

